Saturday, September 30th, 2023
Shahabuddin swears in as Bangladesh’s new president
April 24th, 2023 at 1:25 pm
Shahabuddin swears in as Bangladesh’s new president

by Staff Correspondent,

Dhaka – Mohammed Shahabuddin, a retired judge, on Monday sworn in as new president of Bangladesh on a five-year tenure.

He replaced the outgoing head of the state Abdul Hamid, who had held the position for 10 years in two tenures since his election to the presidency in 2013.

Speaker of the national parliament Shirin Sharmin Choudhury administered the oath of office to Shahabuddin, at the Bangabhaban presidential palace.

Shahabuddin is the 22nd head of the state of the South Asian country.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, members of her cabinet, senior politicians, judges, civil and military officials, diplomats and members of the civil society attended the oath taking ceremony.

The event was aired live by state-run Bangladesh Television and other private broadcasters.  

Shahabuddin, the nominee of the ruling Awami League party, was elected president unopposed on February 13 as no other candidate submitted papers to contest the race. The voting for presidential election was due in parliament to take place on February 19.

Outgoing president Abdul Hamid congratulated the new president by handing a bunch of flowers at the Durbar hall of the Bangabhaban.

Born in 1949 in the northern Bangladeshi town of Pabna, Shahabuddin retired as a judge in 2006, and later served as a commissioner at the anti-graft watchdog, Anti-Corruption Commission, from 2011 to 2016.

Prior to his presidential candidature, he was a member of the Awami League’s advisory council.

Obtained his MSc degree from Rajshahi University in 1974, Shahabuddin later passed LLB and BCS (Law) examinations.

He was the general secretary of Pabna Edward College unit of Chhatra League, president of Pabna District Chhatra League and Jubo League later also. He was the joint secretary of Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League (BaKSAL) of the district unit and publicity secretary of Awami League district unit.

He actively participated in 6-Point Movement in 1966, Bhutta (Maize) Movement in 1967, mass-uprising in 1969, election of 1970 and Liberation War in 1971.

He was in the frontline organizer of Pabna district movement and raised protest soon after the brutal incidents on August 15, 1975 when Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was assassinated along with most of his family.

Subsequently, he was imprisoned for three years and subjected to inhuman torture by the then military dictator.