Wednesday, September 28th, 2022
Hasina sworn in as prime minister for fourth term in Bangladesh
January 7th, 2019 at 4:49 pm
Hasina sworn in as prime minister for fourth term in Bangladesh

Dhaka – Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina was sworn in to a fourth tenure as prime minister of Bangladesh after her Awami League-led ruling coalition won the last week’s national election with overwhelming parliamentary majority.

President Abdul Hamid, who appointed Hasina as prime minister, administered the oath of office at Bangabhaban. He also administered oath to 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers of the new government.        

President Abdul Hamid administered the oath of office to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, who formed the government in Bangladesh for a fourth tenure – PMO

Hasina, 71, who previously served Bangladesh as prime minister from 1996 to 2001, 2009 to 2014 and 2014 to 2018, will run the country for next five years as her party own majority seats in December parliamentary elections, marred by violence and opposition allegations of rigging.  

The government trashed the allegations.

And, Hasina became prime minister for the record third straight tenure in Bangladesh history.

The swearing-in ceremony was broadcasted live on state-run Bangladesh Television and Bangladesh Betar. It was attended by senior politicians, foreign diplomats, civil and military officials.

Newly inducted cabinet members took oath of office. President Abdul Hamid administered the oath at Bangabhababan – PMO

The portfolios of the ministers were announced on Sunday as Hasina drew the ministers from her own party despite she contested the 30 election under a combine led by her ruling AL.

Ministers from the alliance partners were dropped and most of the senior cabinet colleagues in the outgoing cabinet were replaced by new faces. The largest alliance partner, Jatiyo Party of former military dictator Hussain Muhammad Ershad, will now be in the opposition in parliament.

The AL won 259 seats in 300-strong parliament in the election, during which at least 16 people were killed in violence.

The opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led opposition alliance of jailed former prime minister Khaleda Zia rejected the election result alleging massive rigging.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was greeted with flowers as she sssumed offic for the third-straight tenure

The BNP, five lawmakers-elect of which stayed away from taking oath, demanded a fresh election under a neutral administration. Its alliance partner Gono Forum, which bagged two seats, also followed the suit.

The members of the new cabinet:

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina holds the charge of six ministries and divisions. They are: the cabinet division, the ministries of public administration, defence, armed forces division, energy, power and mineral resources, and women and children affairs.

Bangladesh logo

Ministers: AKM Mozammel Haq was named for the ministry of liberation war affairs, Obaidul Quader for road and bridges, Abdur Razzak for agriculture, Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal for home affairs, Mohammad Hasan Mahmud information, Anisul Huq for law, justice and parliament affairs, AHM Mustafa Kamal for finance, Md Taiul Islam for local government, rural development and cooperatives, Dipu Moni education, AK Abdul Momen foreign affairs, MA Mannan planning, Nurul Mazid Mhamud Humayun  industries, Golam Dastagir Gazi for jute and textile, Zahid Malique health and family welfare, Sadhan Chandra Majumder food, Tipu Munshi commerce, Nuruzzaman Ahmed social welfare, SM Rezaul Karim housing and public works, Bir Bahadur Ushe Shing Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs, Saiduzzaman Chowdhury land, Md Nurul Islam Sujon railway, Architect Yafes Osman for science and technology and Mostafa Jabbar as post, telecommunication and information communication technology.

State Ministers:

President Abdul Hamid shakes hand with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina after she swear in as prime miniister for the fourth time – PID

Kamal Ahmed Majumder industries, Imran Ahmed expatriate welfare and overseas employment, Zahid Ahsan Rasel youth and sports, Nasrul Hamid energy, power and mineral resources, Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru fisheries and livestock, Munnuzan Sufian labour and employment, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury shipping, Md Zakir Hossain primary and mass education, Md Shariar Alam foreign affairs, Junayed Ahmed Polok information communication and technology, Farhad Hossain public administration, Swapan Bhattacharyya local government, rural development and cooperatives, Zahid Faruk water resources ministry, Md Murad Hasan  health and family welfare, Sharif Ahmed social welfare, KM Khalid cultural affairs, Md Enamur Rahman disaster management and relief, Md Mahbub Ali civil aviation and tourism and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah religious affairs ministry.

Deputy Ministers

Habibun Nahar Environment, Forest and Climate Change Affairs, AKM Enamul Haq Shamim water resources and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury education.