Wednesday, September 28th, 2022
Fugitive mutineers will not be spared, says home minister
February 25th, 2017 at 3:57 pm
Fugitive mutineers will not be spared, says home minister

Dhaka – Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan on Saturday said the fugitive criminals in the carnage of the then Bangladesh Rifles headquarters would be brought to book soon.

The lawmen have been trying to arrest the fugitive convicts of the BDR mutiny, the minister said while talking to the reporters on the eighth anniversary of the troopers’ mutiny against their commanders in 2009 at the Pilkhana headquarters of the BDR.

More than 50 army officers were killed during the rebellion.

“None will be spared who got involved in the heinous incident, he said. The lawmen are very alert now to capture the offenders soon’.’

Representatives from the President Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina paid homage to the memories of the officers by placing wreaths at city’s Banani Graveyard in the morning.

The home minister, chiefs of the three services and BGB director general also paid respects to the martyrs by placing flower at the Banani Graveyard.

The brutality and bestiality of the some mindless mutinous soldiers lasted for 33 hours that the people of the country still cannot forget the day and remember it with huge and countless pain, pang, anguish and agony.

The rebellious paramilitary forces had reportedly killed at least 74 people including 57 smart army officers.

Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) has been marking the Peelkhana Martyrs’ Day since the morning with paying tribute to the martyrs of the tragic incident.

Prayers will be held in different mosques of BGB for eternal peace of the departed souls of martyrs’ officers.

On Sunday, a religious ritual will be held at the Bir Uttam Fazlur Rahman Khandaker auditorium. Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan will be the chief guest.

BDR was renamed as Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) after the mutiny. Cases were lodged– one for serious crimes, including murder and looting, and the rest for mutiny.

Some 152 people were awarded capital punishment and 423 others to different jail terms and 277 others acquitted.

Of the convicts, 161 people, including late Bangladesh Nationalist Party leader Nasiruddin Ahmed Pintu and local Awami League leader Torab Ali, got life in jail.

The 262 others convicts were given different jail terms beginning from three months to 19 years. Besides, a total of 5,926 BDR personnel were sentenced to various jail terms spanning from four months to seven years in the 57 mutiny cases.