Bangladesh remembers victims of grisly grenade attack on AL rally
August 21st, 2019 at 12:24 pm
Bangladesh remembers victims of grisly grenade attack on AL rally

Dhaka – Leaders and activists of major political parties on Wednesday paid homage to the victims of the grisly grenade attack on an Awami League rally in Dhaka that killed 24 people 15 years ago.

The activist placed floral wreaths at an altar in front of the central headquarters of Bangladesh Awami League in the city’s Bangabandhu Avenue where the grenade attacks were carried out on August 21, 2004.

More than 500 people were wounded and then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina, who was addressing an anti-terrorism rally, narrowly escaped the attack.

Bangladesh attack
The scene of August 21, 2004

The first floral wreath was placed on behalf of Sheikh Hasina, now the prime minister of Bangladesh and chief of the Awami League party. Obaidul Quader, the general secretary of the party, placed the flower. Then the other leaders and activists paid the homage to the victims and stood in silence as a mark of respect to the victims.

The Awami League alleged that the then ruling Bangladesh Nationalist Party and its right wing allies carried out the attack to eliminate the Awami League leadership.

A special court in October 2018, sentenced 19 people, including former junior minister for home affairs Lutfozzaman Babar to death for his role in the political conspiracy. Tarique Rahman, a senior BNP leader and the son of former prime minister Khaleda Zia, was among 19 others who were handed down with life in prison in the grenade attack case. Senior police officer, officials of the spy agency and political leaders were among the convicts in the case.

Bangladesh terrorism
The devastation after the grenade attack on Awami League rally in 2004 – file photo

The then Women Affairs secretary of Awami League Ivy Rahman, then opposition leader’s personal security Lance Corporal (retd) Mahbubur Rashid, Abul Kalam Azad, Rezina Begum, Nasir Uddin Sardar, Atique Sarkar, Abdul Kuddus Patwari, Aminul Islam Moazzem, Belal Hossain, Mamun Mridha, Ratan Shikdar, Liton Munshi, Hasina Mamtaz Reena, Sufia Begum, Rafiqul Islam (Ada Chacha), Mostaque Ahmed Sentu, Md Hanif, Abul Kashem, Zahed Ali, Momen Ali, M Shamsuddin and Ishaque Miah were among those killed in the attack.

Awami League leaders Sheikh Hasina, Amir Hossain Amu, Abdur Razzak, Suranjit Sengupta, Obaidul Quader, Advocate Sahara Khatun, Mohammad Hanif, Prof Abu Sayeed, and AFM Bahauddin Nasim were among others who survived with splinter wounds.

A discussion on the grenade attack will be held at Krishibid Institution of Bangladesh (at Khamarbari in city’s Farmgate in the afternoon. AL President Sheikh Hasina is expected to chair the discussion.