Awami League leads Narayanganj mayoral election
December 22nd, 2016 at 9:20 pm
Awami League leads Narayanganj mayoral election

Dhaka –Ruling Awami League nominated candidate Selina Hayat Ivy was leading the race in Narayanganj mayoral election as counting of the ballots was in progress after peaceful holding of the election Thursday.

According to counts of ballots from 169 of 174 polling stations, Ivy bagged 173,826 votes while his nearest rival Shahkhawat Hossain Khan of opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party got 93,468 votes.

The election commission has said that the returning officer of the election will formally announce the election results at 11 am Friday in Narayanganj. The commission also imposed ban on processions in the election constituency until the mid-night of Saturday.

Voting in Narayanganj ended with no reports of violence as electors exercise their right to franchise to choose representatives in mayoral election in the city.

Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad termed the election free and fair. Soon after the closure of the balloting in the afternoon, Ahmad thanked all the people who put their efforts to ensure a “credible” election.

“I thank all people including law enforcers and media persons who helped to hold the election in a fair and credible manner,” Ahmad said at a press conference at his Election Commission secretariat in Dhaka.

Voting began in a festive mode with people waiting on long queues well before the polling stations opened at 8 am. The balloting continued without any break until 4 pm.

Contenders were apparently happy with the voting atmosphere.

Returning Officer Nuruzzaman Talukder said the election was peaceful, free and fair.

Paramilitary troopers drawn from Border Guard Bangladesh, posted as striking force, were seen patrolling streets in Narayanganj to maintain order during and after the polls to be contested mainly between ruling Awami League party and the opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party.

A total of 195 candidates contested for 37 posts. Of them, seven were contesting for the mayoral post and 156 are contesting in 27 wards while 38 are contesting for nine women reserved seats.

Seven candidates were contesting for the mayoral position. Awami League nominated candidate Salina Hayat Ivy and Bangladesh Nationalist Party nominated  candidate  Advocate Sakhawat Hossain Khan are contending the polls for the mayoral post with symbols ‘boat’ and ‘paddy sheaf respectively.

The five other mayoral contestants are Mahbubur Rahman Ismail of Bangladesh Biplabi Workers Party, Kamal Prodhan of Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), Maulana Md Masum Billah of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Mufti Azharul Haque of Islami Oikyajot, Md Rashed Ferdous of Bangladesh Kalyan Party.

The rate of voters turn out could not be known. A total of 474,931 voters were eligible to cast their ballots under 174 poling centers. Of them, 241, 514 are male and 237,878 are female voters.

Some 174 presiding officers, 1,304 assistant presiding officers and 2,608 poling officers are performing their duties.