Kejriwal sworn in as Delhi Chief Minister for third consecutive tenure
February 16th, 2020 at 6:00 pm
Kejriwal sworn in as Delhi Chief Minister for third consecutive tenure

 International desk – The head of the Aam Aadmi Party Arvind Kejriwal has sworn in as chief minister of Delhi for the third consecutive tenure.  

Kejriwal, an anti-corruption figure turned politician, defeated the Indian ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in the provincial election last week by a big margin.

Several thousand people turned out to cheer him on the Ramlila Maidan, where the swearing in ceremony was organized.

Manish Sisodia, Gopal Rai, Satyendar Jain, Kailash Gahlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Pal Gautam were also sworn in as member of Kejriwal’s cabinet in Delhi.

People from different professions including teachers, bus marshals, sanitation workers, metro pilots and families of firefighters also shared the stage with Kejriwal during his swearing-in ceremony.

Kejriwal said he has dedicated the victory to the 20 million people of the national capital and unveiled the agenda his government will follow in the next five years tenure.

“This is not my victory but that of each one of you that of the mothers, sisters, students and every family of Delhi,” he told the crowd gathered at the ground.

The 51-year old politician said not everyone voted for him, but “I have taken an oath today I am everyone’s chief minister.”

He sought cooperation from all including the central the government to implement his agenda for the welfare of Delhi.

The Aam Aadmi Party swept the Delhi assembly polls by winning 62 of the 70 seats in the election held on February 8. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win the rest eight seats from its earlier tally of three seats. Congress once again could not win in any seat.