Voting underway in Chattogram by-election
January 13th, 2020 at 12:32 pm
Voting underway in Chattogram by-election

Dhaka – People are seen gathered on long queues in front of polling stations as voting to a Chattogram parliamentary constitution began in the Monday morning.

The election commission arranged the by-election to the Chattogram-8 constituency as the parliamentary seat fell vacant after the death of local lawmaker Moinuddin Khan Badal in November, 2019.

Electronic voting machines (are being used as voting started at 9am. The casting of vote will be continued until 5pm without any break.

Major political parties including ruling Awami League (AL) and the opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)fielded candidates for the by-polls in the south-eastern constituency, where 475,996 voters are eligible to cast votes.

The contest is likely to be confined between the AL’s Moslem Uddin Ahmed and BNP’s Abu Sufian, according to the local residents.

Chairman of Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF) SM Abul Kalam Azad, Islamic Front Bangladesh’s Syed Mohammad Farid Uddin, National Awami Party’s Bapon Dasgupta and independent candidate Mohammad Emdadul Haque are the other contestants.

Moinuddin Khan Badal was elected lawmaker from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), an ally of the AL, in the 2018 election. He died in a hospital in an Indian hospital on November 7, 2019.

Bangladesh parliament has 300 seats, where people elected their representatives through direct votes. There are also 50 seats reserved for the women being elected by indirect votes.