Fakhrul’s parliamentary seat announced vacant
April 30th, 2019 at 9:38 pm
Fakhrul’s parliamentary seat announced vacant

Dhaka – The parliamentary seat of Bogra-6 has been announced vacant as lawmaker-elect to that constituency failed to swear in within the stipulated time.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury informed the House on Tuesday that the seat of Mirza Fakrul Islam Alamgir, the secretary general of the Bangladesh Nationalist Party, was vacated.

A lawmaker-elect must take oath within 90 days after parliament goes into its first sitting. But Fakrul, who was elected from Bogra-6 constituency, did not turn up to take oath until Tuesday.

Five other lawmakers of the party, however, sworn in to parliament, Four of them took the oath on Monday and the other on Thursday despite the party rejected the result of December 30 election citing that the polls were rigged, and decided not to join parliament.

Those who joined parliament said that they took oath as per the directive of party’s acting chairperson, Tarique Rahman, who is now exiled in London facing conviction in graft cases in Bangladesh.