Four more BNP lawmakers-elect sworn in to parliament
April 29th, 2019 at 6:18 pm
Four more BNP lawmakers-elect sworn in to parliament

Dhaka – Four lawmakers-elect from opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party have sworn in to parliament despite the party decided not to join parliament citing that the last year’s national election was rigged.

Harun Or Rashid of Chapainwabganj-3, Aminul Islam of Chapainwabganj-2, Ukil Abdus Sattar of Brahmanbaria-2 and Mosharraf Hossain of Bogura-4 parliamentary constituencies took oath on Monday.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Choudhury administered oath to the lawmakers at his office in the afternoon.

Earlier on Thursday, Zahidur Rahman, a lawmaker-elect from northern Thakurgaon district, sworn in as lawmaker on Thursday putting extra pressure on the party. He was expelled from the party for joining parliament.

But the newly joined lawmakers have said that they took oath as per the party’s decision.  

With the latest joining, five out of six lawmakers of the party joined parliament. The other lawmaker Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, secretary general of the party, did not turn out to swear in to parliament.