‘New cabinet of young-old blend to help implement targets’
January 7th, 2019 at 1:47 pm
‘New cabinet of young-old blend to help implement targets’

Dhaka – The next cabinet proposed with a combination of old and young faces was praised by different quarters, Awami League general secretary Oabidul Quader said on Monday, a day after the new cabinet was announced.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday disclosed the names of her 47-member cabinet after her Awami League party won the December 30 election with overwhelming parliamentary majority.

The members of the cabinet are scheduled to take oath Monday afternoon.

Hasina dropped most of the senior leaders of her party, and coalition partners brining nearly 30 new faces absolutely from her ruling party. But the AL general secretary Quader, who is also the Road and Bridge affairs minister, said the backward districts were given priority in the new list of cabinet.

He said none was dropped. It is the change of responsibility. Those who were out of the cabinet now will be able to give more time for the party as he says the party sometimes seems to have devoured in the government.

“None of them are failed minister. They will now give attention to the party affairs,” he told reporters at his office few hours ahead of the swearing in of the new cabinet. The senior leaders will now work for strengthening the party.

Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, Local Government Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Khandker Mosharraf Hossain, Housing and Public Works Minister Mosharraf Hossain, Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid, Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan, Disaster Management and Relied Affairs Minister Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya, Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, Railway Minister Mazibul Hoque, Primary and Mass Education Minister Mostafizur Rahman, Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, Jute and Textile Minster Emaj Uddin Pramanik, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, Fisheries and Livestock Minister Narayan Chandra Chanda, Land Minister Shamsur Rahman Sharif, Food Minister Kamrul Islam and Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister AKM Shajahan Kamal were dropped from the list.

Among the coalition partners Rashed Khan Menon of Bangladesh Workers Party and Hasanul Haq Inu of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal were also dropped.

Five ministers of the previous tenure retained. They are: Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal, Law Minister Anisul Huq and Planning Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal who was given the charge of Finance.

State Ministers Mujibul Haque (Chunnu), Mirza Azam, Biren Sikder, Ismat Ara Sadique, Meher Afroz Chumki, Tarana Halim, Muhammad Nazrul Islam, Moshiur Rahman Ranga and Kazi Keramat Ali were also dropped.

Five state ministers were promoted to full ministers. MA Mannan, Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing, Saifuzzaman Chowdhury, Zahid Maleque and Nuruzzaman Ahmed have got promoted portfolios while Shahriar Alam, Nasrul Hamid and Zunaid Ahmed Palak remained at their proviso positions.

Deputy ministers Abdullah Al Islam Jacob and Arif Khan Joy were also axed.