Hasina names 47-member new cabinet to be sworn in Monday
January 6th, 2019 at 5:23 pm
Hasina names 47-member new cabinet to be sworn in Monday

Dhaka – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has named members of her new cabinet colleagues, who are scheduled to swear in Monday at Bangabhaban, officials said on Sunday.

Prime Minister Hasina will lead a 47-member cabinet, according to Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam. He said the new ministers will swear in at 3.30pm on Monday.

Bangladesh politics
Sheikh Hasina

The cabinet secretary was briefing newsmen in the afternoon. He said 31 new faced were inducted in the new cabinet. Two of the three are technocrats are old.  

Beside her responsibility as Prime Minister, Hasina will be also in-charge of the cabinet division, the ministries of public administration, defence, armed forces division, energy, power and mineral resources, and women and children affairs.

According to the list available, AFM Mustafa Kamal was announced as finance minster to replace Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, who runs the ministry for a long time. Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali was replaced by Abul Kalam Abdul Momen.

Bangladesh politician
AHM Mostafa Kamal

Most of the senior ministers were dropped from the list. Most controversial minister Shjahan Khan was not in the list. Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed and Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, and Health and Family Welfare Minister Mohammad Nasim, Local Government Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Mosharraf Hossain, and Housing and Public Works Minister Mosharraf Hossain will not be in the new cabinet according to the list.

Ministers from the alliance partners Rashed Khan Menon and Hasanul Haq Inu will also not be in the new cabinet.

Following are the new cabinet members:


Bangladesh logo

AKM Mozammel Haq was named for the ministry of liberation war affairs, Obaidul Quader for road and bridges, Abdur Razzak for agiriculture, Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal for home affairs, Mohammad Hasan Mahmud for information, Anisul Huq for law, justice and parliament affairs, AHM Mustafa Kamal for finance, Md Taiul Islam for local government, rural development and cooperatives, Dipu Moni for education, AK Abdul Momen for foreign affairs, MA Mannan for planning, Nurul Mazid Mhamud Humayun  for industries, Golam Dastagfir Gazi for jute and textile, Zahid Malik for health and family welfare, Sadhan Chandra Majumder for food ministry, Tipu Munshi for commerce ministry, Nuruzzaman Ahmed for social welfare, SM Rezaul Karim for Housing and public works, Bir Bahadur Ushe Shing for Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs, Saiduzzaman Chowdhury for land, Md Nurul Islam Sujon for railway affairs ministry, Architect Yafes Osman for since and technology ministry and Mostafa Jabbar as Post, telecommunication and Information Communication Technology ministry.

State Ministers:

Kamal Ahmed Majumder for industries, Imran Ahmed for the ministry of Expatriate welfare and overseas employment, Zahid Ahsan Rasel for youth and sports, Nasrul Hamid for energy, power and mineral resources, Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru for fisheries and livestock, Munnuzan Sufian for labour and employment, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury for shipping ministry, Md Zakir Hossain for primary and mass education, Md Shariar Alam for foreign affairs, Junayed Ahmed Polok for Information Communication and Technology, Farhad Hossain for public administration, Swapan Bhattacharyya for local government, rural development and cooperatives, Zahid Faruk for water resources ministry, Md Murad Hasan  for health and family welfare, Sharif Ahmed for social welfare, KM Khalid for cultural affairs, Md Enamur Rahman for disaster management and relief, Md Mahbub Ali for civil aviation and tourism and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah for religious affairs ministry.

Deputy Ministers

Habibun Nahar for Environment, Forest and Climate Change Affairs, AKM Enamul Haq Shamim water resources, Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury for the ministry of education.