Newly-elected lawmakers sworn in to parliament
January 3rd, 2019 at 1:39 pm
Newly-elected lawmakers sworn in to parliament

Dhaka – Ruling coalition lawmakers elected through Sunday’s national election have sworn in to parliament on Thursday amid an opposition abstention.

Parliamentary speaker, Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, who herself took the oath as an MP, administered the oath-taking ceremony at the parliament building at 11 am.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina led the lawmakers-elect from her Awami League party at the oath-taking chamber. They also signed the letter of oath as per the parliamentary rules of procedure.  

Chaudhury then administered the oath to other MPs of Jatiyo Party of former military dictator Hussain Muhammad Ershad, Bangladesh Workers Party of Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal of Hasanul Haq Inu, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh of former president AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury, Tariqat Federation of Nazibul Bashar Maijbhandari, Jatiya Party of Anwar Hossain Manju.

Three independent lawmakers also took oath.

Lawmakers belong to Bangladesh Nationalist Party of jailed former prime minister Khaleda Zia and its ally Gono Forum did not turn up to the oath taking ceremony.

The opposition alliance, which won in only seven parliamentary seats, alleged that Sunday’s election was rigged. They asked the election commission to arrange a fresh election scrapping Sunday’s polls.

The Election Commission on Tuesday published the results of the 11th general elections in official gazette containing the names and addresses of candidates of 298 constituencies.

The polling was held in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday as the voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was suspended due to death of a candidate earlier.

However, the results of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency was postponed as voting in three centres was suspended.

According to the polls results, Awami League bagged 259 seats, HM Ershad- led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats while BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gono Forum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiya Party one seat and independent candidates got three seats.