Lawmakers-elect to swear in Thursday
January 2nd, 2019 at 5:06 pm
Lawmakers-elect to swear in Thursday

Dhaka – The swearing-in ceremony of Bangladeshi lawmakers-elect will be held at parliament building on Thursday as the result of Sunday’s elections was published in the official gazette, officials said on Wednesday.

The oath-taking ceremony will take place at 11 am at the Oath Room of the parliament building, an official at the parliament secretariat said.

Earlier, the election commission, which conducted the election Sunday in 299 out of 300 parliamentary seats, in a letter to the parliament secretariat asked for arranging the oath taking ceremony.

Election to the other constituency was rescheduled to January 27 after one of the contenders died of cardiac arrest during the campaigning in the run-up to the general election.

The ruling Awami League of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina won 259 seats having overwhelming majority in parliament. The AL’s alliance partner Jatiyo Party bagged 20 seats. The opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party of jailed former prime minister Khaleda Zia got only five seats while its alliance partner bagged Gono Forum bagged two seat.

Left-leaning Bangladesh Workers Party of Rashed Khan Menon took three, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal of Hasnul Haq Inu got two, Bikalpo Dhara Bangladesh of former president AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury two, Bangladesh Tariqat Federation one and Jatiya Party faction led by Anwar Hossain Manju got one seat.

Independent candidates won in three seats.

After the oath-taking, the parliamentary party of the majority party will meet before it calls on to the President. As per the constitutional provision, the president will invite the majority party leader to form the new government.

The new cabinet is likely to swear in before January 10.