Opposition lawmakers-elect not to swear in, says Fakhrul
December 31st, 2018 at 8:23 pm
Opposition lawmakers-elect not to swear in, says Fakhrul

Dhaka – Opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) in its formal reaction to the debacle in Sunday’s election result announced that its lawmakers-elect would not swear in to parliament as the party rejected the ‘farcical’ election.

Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, the secretary general of the party, while briefing newsmen at the party chairperson’s Gulshan office came up with the declaration demanding immediate re-election to parliament.

He termed Chief Election Commissioner KH Nurul Huda, who categorically turned down the opposition’s demand for fresh election, as the most bias man in Bangladesh.

Five BNP candidates won the Sunday’s election while two others of Gono Forum, one of the components of the opposition alliance, bagged seats in parliament.

 The ruling Awami League-led grand alliance won 288 seats in the 11th parliament held on Sunday marred by violence.

Asked when the opposition would launch its actions to press home their demands, the BNP leader said shortly after discussion with the alliance partners.         

“We will continue to fight both legally and politically for a fresh election under a neutral administration,” Alamgir said.

Alamgir, however, did not mention any timeline for the next course of plan.

Fakhrul said the government steered the election by unfair use of state mechanisms in a planned manner.