18 eminent persons honoured with Independence Award 2018
March 25th, 2018 at 11:50 am
18 eminent persons honoured with Independence Award 2018

Dhaka – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday handed the Bangladesh’s highest civilian awards among 18 eminent persons for their outstanding contribution in their respective fields.

The Independence Award 2018 was distributed among the recipients at a function in Dhaka’s Osmani Memorial Hall, a day ahead of the Independence Day celebration.

The government initially announced the names of 16 persons for the awards on March 6, but two more names were added in the list on March 20 for the highest civilian award.

The premier handed the awards to the relatives of those who were awarded the honour posthumously and to the recipient directly.

The award was given to late Kazi Zakir Hasan, martyred intellectual SMA Rashidul Hasan, late Shankar Gobinda Chowdhury, Bir Uttam Air Vice-marshal Sultan Mahmud, late M Abdur Rahim (posthumously), Bhupati Bhushan Chowdhury alias Manik Chowdhury (posthumously), Shaheed Lt M Anwarul Azim, late Humayun Rashid Chowdhury, Shaheed Amanullah Mohammad Asaduzzaman, Shaheed Matiur Rahman Mallik, Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Haque and Amzadul Haque (Independence and Liberation War), Dr AK MD Ahsan Ali (Medical Science), Prof AK Azad Khan (Social Service), Selina Hossain (Literature) and Dr Md Abdul Mazid (Food Security).

Cultural Affairs Minister Assaduzzaman Noor (culture) and Channel I director Shykh Seraj (agricultural journalism) were also handed the award as their named were included in the list on a later date.