JP wins Rangpur mayoral polls
December 22nd, 2017 at 2:40 pm
JP wins Rangpur mayoral polls

Dhaka – Jatiyo Party nominated candidate has own the Rangpur city election defeating his nearest rival from the ruling Awami League party in a big margin, election officials said.

Mostafizur Rahman Mostafa won the election bagging 1,60,489 votes with his party symbol ‘Plough’ as his nearest rival Sarfuddin Ahmed Jhantu got 62,400 votes with party symbol of ‘Boat’.

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party candidate Kawsar Zaman Babla secured the third position bagging 35,136 votes with symbol Sheaf of Paddy, according to the returning officer of the election to Rangpur City Corporation.

Returning Officer Subhash Chandra Sarkar formally announced the unofficial results on completion of ballot counting of all the 193 polling centres at police control room in Rangpur.

The election was peaceful as voters turn out was more than 74 per cent. The electors were seen queue for hours to cast their vote to choose a representative at the local government body.

Mayoral post candidates Selim Akhter of National Peoples Party got 811 votes with symbol ‘Mango’, ATM Golam Mostafa of Islami Shasontantra Andolan Bangladesh got 24,006 votes with symbol ‘Hand Fan’, Abdul Kuddus of BSD got 1,262 votes with symbol ‘Ladder’ and independent Hossain Mokbul Shahriar bagged 2,319 votes with symbol ‘Elephant’.

A total of 292,723 voters exercised their franchise out of 393,994 in the polls, according to the election commission.

The winner, Mostafa expressed satisfaction over the win. He said the polls were peaceful and impartial amid huge festivity. “I’ll try to fulfil my election pledges with the help of all people in the city,” he told reporters at his residence.

“My victory is the victory of the people of Rangpur city—- I will engage my fullest efforts in turning city into a modern and beautiful city,” Mostafa added.

Thirty-three councilors for 33 general wards and 11 reserved female councilors for 11 reserved wards were also elected in the elections on Thursday.

A total of 283 candidates including seven for the posts of mayor, 211 for 33 the general councilor and 65 for the 11 reserved councilors contested in the RpCC polls.

The returning officer greeted all candidates and winners and thanked the people of Rangpur, election officials, members of law enforcement agencies and journalists for all-out cooperation in holding the polls in a festive atmosphere.