Wednesday, January 25th, 2017
Search committee for election commission formed
January 25th, 2017 at 2:43 pm
Search committee for election commission formed

Dhaka – President Abdul Hamid on Wednesday formed a search committee for the reconstitution of the Election Commission as the tenure of the current commission headed by Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad expires next month.

The six-member committee was suggested after a month-long consultation with the political parties, including the ruling Awami League, opposition Jatiyo Party and Bangladesh Nationalist Party, the major opposition outside parliament.

Officials said the names of the six persons were sent to the cabinet division for publishing an official gazette notification.

The search body will recommend the members to be appointed as Election Commissioners and the Chief Election Commissioner who will conduct the crucial next general elections to be held in late 2018.

The ruling Awami League of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina assumed office for the second consecutive tenure in January 2014 after an election boycotted by Bangladesh Nationalist Party led by former premier Khaleda Zia.

Khaleda had demanded a non-party caretaker administration to oversee the credible holding of the election. Her party this time round also placed a set of recommendations to the President for strengthening the election commission.

Joynal Abedin, press secretary to the president, said that the cabinet division will publish a gazette disclosing the names of the search committee members soon.

The President wrapped up a series of dialogue with major political parties on January 18 to find a solution to appoint an Election Commission to hold credible polls in Bangladesh.