Verdict awaits for eight Jessore war crimes suspects
July 14th, 2016 at 5:56 pm
Verdict awaits for eight Jessore war crimes suspects

Dhaka – A special tribunal is poised to pass verdict any day in a case that accused eight suspects of crimes committed during Bangladesh’s 1971 war of liberation as hearing into the case ended on Thursday, officials said.

Justice Anwarul Haque, chairman of the three-member panel of the International Crime Tribunal-1 said that the verdict will now be waiting for delivery at any day against the nine, including former lawmaker Sakhawat Hossain of Jamaat-e-Islami.

The tribunal issued the order after the defence team ended their part of arguments, following the prosecution rebuttal part.

Eight other accused are; Billal Hossain, Lutfor Morol, Md Ibrahim Hossain, Sheikh Md Mujibur Rahman, Md Abdul Aziz Sarder, Qazi Ohidul Islam alias Wahidur Salam, Md Aziz Sarder and Abdul Khalek Morol.

Among the accused Lutfor morol died of cardiac arrest on May 6 this year.

Lawyer Abdus Sattar Palhoyan and Abdus Shukur Khan were on the side of the defence to prove the suspects are innocent. On the other hand prosecutor Jeyad Al Malum and Raziya Sultana were against the suspects.

Malum said that they were able to prove that the crimes committed by the suspects in Satkhira district. “So we prayed for capital punishment, and we are hopeful”, said Jeyad Al Malum.

Defence lawyer Phaloyan said, the allegations against his clients were false and pointless. “We hope for justice.”

Seventeen witnesses gave deposition on the states side while no witness was in favour of the defendant. The investigators formally accused the nine December 23 last year. They were accused of mass murder, rape, arson and other crime against humanity.

On June 16, final report was submitted against the suspects. The investigation started on April 1, 2012 and was finished by investigator Abur Razzak Khan.

Shakhawat was elected a Member of Parliament on Jamaat-e-Islami from Jessore-6 constituency in 1991 but he joined Bangladesh Nationalist Party before the tenure of parliament expired. He was also nominated for parliamentary election by the BNP later.