Thursday, December 22nd, 2016
Ivy set to become Narayanganj Mayor for second-straight term  
December 22nd, 2016 at 11:40 pm
Ivy set to become Narayanganj Mayor for second-straight term  

Dhaka – Selina Hayat Ivy is set to become the mayor of Narayanganj City Corporation for the second straight time as she, according to unofficial result, won the election Thursday.

Ivy, the ruling Awami League candidate, bagged 174,602 votes while her nearest rival Shahkhawat Hossain Khan of Bangladesh Nationalist Party got 96, 700 votes.

Returning Officer Nuruzzaman Talukdar made the announcement at his temporary office at Narayanganj Club in the late evening.

The election commission has said that the election result will formally be announced on Friday. The commission also imposed ban on processions in the election constituency until the mid-night of Saturday.

Voting in Narayanganj ended with no reports of violence as electors exercise their right to franchise to choose representatives in mayoral election in the city.

Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad termed the election free and fair. Soon after the closure of the balloting in the afternoon, Ahmad thanked all the people who put their efforts to ensure a “credible” election.

“I thank all people including law enforcers and media persons who helped to hold the election in a fair and credible manner,” Ahmad said at a press conference at his Election Commission secretariat in Dhaka.

Voting began in a festive mode with people waiting on long queues well before the polling stations opened at 8 am. The balloting continued without any break until 4 pm.

Contenders were apparently happy with the voting atmosphere.

Returning Officer Nuruzzaman Talukder said the election was peaceful, free and fair.

Paramilitary troopers drawn from Border Guard Bangladesh, posted as striking force, were seen patrolling streets in Narayanganj to maintain order during and after the polls to be contested mainly between ruling Awami League party and the opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party.

A total of 195 candidates contested for 37 posts. Of them, seven were contesting for the mayoral post and 156 are contesting in 27 wards while 38 are contesting for nine women reserved seats.

Seven candidates were contesting for the mayoral position. Awami League nominated candidate Salina Hayat Ivy and Bangladesh Nationalist Party nominated  candidate  Advocate Sakhawat Hossain Khan are contending the polls for the mayoral post with symbols ‘boat’ and ‘paddy sheaf respectively.

The five other mayoral contestants are Mahbubur Rahman Ismail of Bangladesh Biplabi Workers Party, Kamal Prodhan of Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), Maulana Md Masum Billah of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Mufti Azharul Haque of Islami Oikyajot, Md Rashed Ferdous of Bangladesh Kalyan Party.

The rate of voters turn out could not be known. A total of 474,931 voters were eligible to cast their ballots under 174 poling centers. Of them, 241, 514 are male and 237,878 are female voters.

Some 174 presiding officers, 1,304 assistant presiding officers and 2,608 poling officers are performing their duties.