32 stars honoured with Bangladesh National Sports Award
September 4th, 2016 at 3:33 pm
32 stars honoured with Bangladesh National Sports Award

Dhaka – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday handed the National Sports Awards to thirty-two persons, including Sheikh Kamal and country`s ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for the year 2010, 2011 and 2012.

The Prime Minister handed those awards at a function at Osmani Memorial Hall in Dhaka in recognition to their outstanding contributions from their respective fields to the development of games and sports.

State Minister for Youth and Sports Biren Sikder presided over the function, while Deputy Minister Arif Khan Joy and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Ministry of Youths and Sports Zahid Ahsan Russell were present as the special guests, according to state-run Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha news agency.

Sheikh Kamal, a star in sports arena during the post-independence period and the eldest son of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, was given the National Sports Award (posthumously) for 2011.

Founder of the country’s leading sports club Abahani Krira Chakra, Kamal was assassinated along with his parents, spouse and other family members on the fateful night of August 15, 1975.

The National Sports Award, introduced in 1976, is the highest honour bestowed upon a sports personality. A total of 188 sports personalities so far have been given the award, which includes 19 cricketers.

Before Shakib, ICC Trophy-winning captain Akram Khan received the award in 1998 while Mohammad Rafique, the architect of country’s first-ever one-day international win, got the national award in 2006.

The recipients of the National Sports Award for 2010 are: Master Warrant Officer Harun-Ur-Rashid (swimming), Atiqur Rahman (shooting), Mahmuda Begum (athletics), Dewan Md. Nazrul Hossain (gymnastics), Mizanur Rahman Manu (organiser), ASM Ali Kabir (organiser), Nayek Md. Tokbir Hossain (swimming, posthumously), Farid Khan Chowdhury (athletics), Nelee Jesmine (athletics) and Nipa Bose (athletics, Autistic).

The National Sports Award recipients for 2011 are: Rowshan Ara Chobi (gymnastics), Sergeant Md. Kanchon Ali (boxing), Md. Ashraf Ali (wrestling), Helena Khan (Eva) (volleyball), Khaled Masud Pilot (cricket), M Robiul Islam (Fatik Dutta) (bodybuilding), Jumman Lusai (hockey, posthumously), Kutub Uddin Ahmed Chowdhury (Aksir) (organiser), Ashikur Rahman Miku (organiser) and Sheikh Kamal (athletics and organiser, posthumously).

The National Sports Award recipients for 2012 are: Shakib Al Hasan (cricket), Md. Mohsin (football), M Khurshid Alam Babul (football), Ashish Bhadra (football), Satyajit Das Rupu (football), Abdul Gaffar (football),Firoza Khatun (athletics), Nazia Akter Juthi (badminton), Kazi Rajib Uddin Ahmed Chapal (organiser), ANM Mamun Ur Rashid (hockey), Umme Salma Rafique (organiser, posthumously) and Nurul Alam Chowdhury (organiser).