Khaleda sets conditions for next elections
February 3rd, 2018 at 7:59 pm
Khaleda sets conditions for next elections

Dhaka – Bangladesh Nationalist Party has set six-point conditions for credible holding of the next general election due by the year end saying people want change through the polls.

Khaleda Zia, the chief of the party outside parliament, imposed the conditions while addressing the party’s executive committee meeting at a hotel in Dhaka.

She claimed that the administration, armed forces, police and people are with her party and there was no reason to be afraid.

The former prime minister also called the people to get united ahead of the next election to, what she says, salvage the country run by the Awami League for the last two consecutive terms.

Khaleda demanded an election time-administration to create a peaceful atmosphere so that the electors could turn up to the polling stations on the voting day.

Dissolution of Parliament is must before the elections and the deployment of army troopers to act as mobile force must be ensured as per her demand.

The Election Commission has to work neutrality for conducting a free, fair and inclusive election.

Khaleda also opposed the idea of introduction of electronic voting machine in the next poll.

During the opening session of the meeting, Khaleda cast doubt over the court’s neutrality as she is facing two corruption cases likely to pass verdict in a short time.

She said the lower courts are now under the grip of the government and thus do not have the power to deliver independent verdict. The Zia Orphanage Trust graft case verdict is scheduled to be delivered on February 8.

The members of the BNP policymaking body observed one-minute silence, to show respect to the deceased leaders and activists, as the session began at Le Meridian Hotel.

Party secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir presented the party’s organisational report.

Comprised of 502 members, the BNP national executive committee sits today for the first time since its formation in 2016.