Voting underway in 14 upazilas, four municipalities   
March 6th, 2017 at 12:03 pm
Voting underway in 14 upazilas, four municipalities   

Dhaka – Voting in 14 Upazila Parishads and four municipalities are underway in 12 Bangladeshi districts as the limited-scale election is considered a test for the newly appointed election commission headed by KM Nurul Huda.

Initial reports say the election is generally peaceful in Sylhet, Khagrachhari, Sunamganj, Barisal, Patuakhali, Comilla, Pabna,Natore, Nilphamari, Satkhira, Bagrehat  and Kishoreganj districts. The Election Commission says there was no report of violence and falsification.

Adequate number of law enforcement agents is deployed to maintain order in those local government constituencies.

The poll began at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break.

According to election commission fresh elections are begin conducted in Sylhet’s Osmaninagar, Khagrachhari’s Guimara and Sunamganj’s Jagannathpur for all three posts of chairman and vice-chairpersons.

The remaining 11 upazila parishads will see by-polls to fill some vacant posts. Four municipalities in four districts will also see by-polls for either mayor or councillor posts.