Wednesday, February 15th, 2017
CEC, commissioners sworn in
February 15th, 2017 at 4:50 pm
CEC, commissioners sworn in

Dhaka – KM Nurul Huda and his deputies on Wednesday took oath to run the Election Commission for the next five years, officials said.

Chief Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha administered the oath of the new CEC, Huda, and four election commissioners – Mahbub Talukder, Md Rafiqul Islam, Begum Kabita Khanam and Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury.

The ceremony was taken place at the Judges Lounge of the Supreme Court.

President Abdul Hamid appointed Nurul Huda as Chief Election Commissioner on February 8 as the tenure of the Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad-led commission expired. He also appointed four Election Commissioners to reconstitute the quasi-judicial body.

The new commission, which will conduct the next general election sometimes in early 2019, is scheduled to hold a press conference in the afternoon.